RWTH Aachen University, established in 1870, is divided into 9 faculties, including the medical faculty. Currently around 40,375 students are enrolled in over 130 academic programmes. The number of foreign students (6,395) substantiates the university ́s international orientation. Every year, more than 5,800 graduates and 750 doctoral graduates leave the university. Approximately 512 professors as well as 4675 academic and 2443 non- academic colleagues work at RWTH Aachen University. The university budget amounts to 884 million Euros, of which nearly 445 million Euros are funded by third parties. Moreover, special field research, 27 graduate colleges, among them 15 founded by the German Research Foundation, 16 affiliated institutes with strong industrial alignment illustrate the university ́s considerable research potential.

The E.ON Energy Research Centre (ERC), founded in 2006, created the largest private-public partnership ever signed in Europe. ERC is subdivided into five institutes belonging to four different faculties of RWTH Aachen University: Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Georesources and Materials Engineering, and Business and Economics. Thanks to a Scientific Advisory Board composed of global experts and to an Advisory Board managed to 50% by E.ON and to 50% by RWTH, ERC presents an interesting balance of scientific view and industrial concreteness. ERC currently employs more than 100 people operating in three buildings. One building hosts a test facility of the institutes, focusing on testing components for future energy grids and systems at power levels of up to 5MW. The Institute for Automation of Complex Power Systems (ACS) as one of the institutes of the E.ON Energy Research Center focuses on research on the automation, modernization and restructuring of electrical energy distribution systems.

Within the FLEXMETER project, RWTH will mainly contribute on:

  • WP2 – Prosumer-side smart metering architecture and development
  • WP4 – Smart meter services and data management
  • WP6 – Demonstration and evaluation
  • WP7 – Dissemination and Exploitation